March 29th to April 2nd, 2021

Purdue University, West Lafayette (Indiana), USA

going on-line due to the COVID situation


or download a PDF version of it

The topics of this 2021's edition are:

Special attention will be paid to reserving time for discussion.

Featured speakers

Keynote lectures are scheduled at the beginning of the sessions. Here are the confirmed speakers and topics :

Rodolfo Venegas

(University Austral of Chile, Chile)
Wave propagation in hierarchical nanoporous materials

Camille Perrot

(Université Gustave Eiffel, France)
What are the microstructural features having a significant effect at the upper scale in acoustic materials? Understanding the physics and guiding the manufacturing process

J. Stuart Bolton

(Purdue University, IN, USA)
Poro-elastic materials and the control of low frequency sound

Bhisham Sharma

(Wichita State University, USA)
Additive Manufacturing of Porous Noise Absorbers

Tian Jian Lu

(Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China)
Ultralight hybrid-cored sandwich constructions for simultaneous load bearing, energy absorption and sound absorption

Gordon Ebbitt

(Ebbitt Acoustical Consulting, Ann Arbor, MI, USA)
Application of porous materials in the automotive industry when subject to multi-dimensional constraints

SAPEM agenda & important dates

March 29th to April 2nd, 2021 : the conference.



The conference fees will include access to the proceedings.

On or before March 8th 2021 (early bird registrations), the fees are 250 USD per participant.
Fees are reduced to 125 USD for students (on presentation of a valid student card).

After March 8th 2021 (late bird registrations), the fees are 275 USD per participant and 150 USD for students.

Sponsors & Partners

SAPEM 2021 is sponsored by :

If you are interested in sponsoring SAPEM 2021, please click here for more information.

SAPEM 2021 is supported by :


SAPEM is organized by J. Stuart Bolton, Brian T. Barrett, Yutong Tony Xue, and Patricia Davies from The Ray W. Herrick Laboratories at Purdue University and  Luc Jaouen, François-Xavier Bécot and Fabien Chevillotte from Matelys.


The 2021 Symposium on the Acoustics of Poro-Elastic Materials was originally planned to be hosted at Purdue University in West Lafayette, IN, USA. However, due to the COVID situation, the decision was taken to go virtual.

Scientific committee

  • Emmanuel Gourdon
  • Claude Boutin
  • Paolo Bonfiglio
  • Francesco Pompoli
  • Peter Göransson
  • Kirill Horoshenkov
  • Olivier Dazel
  • Jean-Philippe Groby
  • Camille Perrot
  • Rodolfo Venegas
  • Heavy Zhang
  • Yutong Tony Xue
  • Keith Wilson
  • Stuart Bolton
  • Patricia Davies
  • Fabien Chevillotte
  • François-Xavier Bécot
  • Luc Jaouen

For additional information

©2019-2021 - Hosted by Matelys